#12 – What Do You Expect From Me? I’m Only Demonic.

Oct. 31st

11:00 PM


‘You have no right!’ I screamed. ‘Jackie! This is my body, not yours!’

I don’t think I’d ever been this hysterical in my life.

“Shut up, Eve, shut up shut up shut up! I need to save my family. I can’t focus if you keep screeching in my ear.”

‘You are so dead once I kick you out of here.’

Jackie was currently walking down the street, hidden by the shadows. She had managed to sneak out of the mansion with the help of Matt. He was supposed to meet up with us later. Apparently, Jackie didn’t care to tell him I was talking to her in my head.

“You don’t need to worry about that. I’ll probably be grounded until the end of time. Or dead.”

It took a while, but I could finally see through my own eyes. I still couldn’t take back control over my limbs, but at least I could blink when I wanted to. It gave me little joy to know that I was re-linked with sight. Slowly, my limbs had to start working with me again.

Right?

‘Why did you have to possess me? You couldn’t have just asked me to do something?’

“No. It doesn’t work like that. The demons are…they’re planning something.”

‘Yeah, the raising of the Devil. Right? I overheard your parents talking about it at the huge Council meeting where you got grounded then.’

“It’s not just that.” My head shook back and forth. It was unnerving hearing my voice talking…to me. “The demons will instantly know that I’m a demon hunter if I went in my body. A soul possessing someone else’s body can be mistaken as a demon. It will be hard for them to tell. However, tonight, when all demons are let loose to wreck havoc before the arrival of the Devil, I can blend in. What’s one more demon out of millions?”

‘Just tell me what your plan is, or the second I’m regaining power over my body, I’m kicking you out so fast you won’t be able to tell what hit you.’

“Tsk, tsk. Threats? Eve, that’s not like you.”

‘Don’t parent me.’

There was silence as Jackie hopped over a locked gate. I wasn’t surprised that we had arrived in a cemetery. The sounds of crows cawing in the trees sent shivers up my spine. Just the idea of crows made the place five times more creepy. Somehow.

“We’re going to raise the Devil before they can, so we can destroy him.”

‘What?!’ My mind froze as we neared the tomb.

“And I’m going to need all the souls I can get to help me do just that.”

Hello, person on the other end of the computer.

